What kinds of sugar or sweeteners are allowed?

The Bright Line for sugar includes all forms of sugar and sweeteners. We do not eat sugar or sweeteners in any form, including those listed below.

Names of sugar:
Barley malt
Barbados sugar
Beet sugar
Brown sugar
Buttered syrup
Cane juice
Cane sugar
Caramel
Corn syrup
Corn syrup solids
Confectioner’s sugar
Carob syrup
Castor sugar
Date sugar
Dehydrated cane juice
Demerara sugar
Dextran
Dextrose
Diastatic malt
Diatase
Ethyl maltol
Free-flowing brown sugars
Fructose
Fruit juice
Fruit juice concentrate
Galactose
Glucose
Glucose solids
Golden sugar
Golden syrup
Grape sugar
HFCS (High Fructose Corn Syrup…very bad!)
Honey
Icing sugar
Invert sugar
Lactose
Malt
Maltodextrin
Maltose
Malt syrup
Malted barley extract
Mannitol
Maple syrup
Molasses
Muscovado
Panocha
Powdered sugar
Raw sugar
Refiner’s syrup
Rice syrup
Sorbitol
Sorghum syrup
Sucrose
Sugar (granulated)
Treacle
Turbinado sugar
Yellow sugar

Names of artificial sweeteners:
Splenda
Aspartame
Xylitol
Sucralose
Moltitol
Equal
Saccharin
Stevia
Truvia

 

This list is not exhaustive. There are others, and more are being invented every day.
For manufactured products such as salad dressings, tomato sauce, condiments, and the like, we make sure there is no sugar or flour listed in the first three ingredients. Of course, if the sweetener is further down than third place on the ingredients list but the product tastes sweet, then it should be avoided.